Welcome to European Tribune. It's gone a bit quiet around here these days, but it's still going.
Energy Community Treaty
The EU and eight countries in South-East Europe met in Athens on 25 October to sign the Energy Community Treaty, which foresees the liberalisation of the region's power and gas markets by 2008. The Treaty brings 34 countries together to form the world's largest internal market for electricity and gas; the 25 EU Member States and Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia, Montenegro, Albania, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Romania, Bulgaria, and, last but not least, UNMIK Kosovo. Modelled on the European Coal and Steel Community that is the basis of the European Union, the Treaty seeks to allow the countries of post-war South East Europe to agree on one area of policy and to develop a shared outlook. The agreement, building on the  'Athens Memoranda', signed in 2002 and 2003, responds to the countries' objective of joining the EU as soon as possible and presents them with the opportunity to become part of the EU single market in the area of electricity and gas as a first step towards that goal.
If you want to know more about the Energy Community Treaty, have a look at the Commission's fact sheet on the topic.

A society committed to the notion that government is always bad will have bad government. And it doesn't have to be that way. — Paul Krugman
by Carrie (migeru at eurotrib dot com) on Sat Nov 5th, 2005 at 01:39:56 PM EST

Others have rated this comment as follows:


Occasional Series