Welcome to European Tribune. It's gone a bit quiet around here these days, but it's still going.
Do you ever wonder how Cameroon came to be divided into anglo- and francophone constituencies? Of course you don't!

Of course I do: the area initially covering 3 or 4 ancient kingdoms was colonized by the German Empire in the late 19th century under the name Kamerun. Following the German defeat in 1918, the League of Nations handed most of the colony over to France minus the two western provinces assigned to Britain (similarly, Togo was handed over to France, Tanganyika to Britain etc...).

In 1960, when several African colonies, including Cameroun became independent, a referendum was organized in the two British administered provinces: one voted for joining Nigeria and the other to be attached to Cameroon.

by Bernard (bernard) on Wed Aug 8th, 2018 at 07:30:33 PM EST
[ Parent ]

Others have rated this comment as follows:

Bjinse 4


Occasional Series