Welcome to European Tribune. It's gone a bit quiet around here these days, but it's still going.
The Spectator has probably never heard of Mauritius, the Seychelles, Dominica or Saint Lucia, who are both members of the Commonwealth and the Francophonie as well. English is the official language of these island nations, but serious business is often done in French and everyday business in créole. Not to mention Canada where the locals have the annoying habit of being fluent in both languages.

By the way, Ireland is not the first EU country to apply for observer status at the Francophonie: Cyprus, another Commonwealth member, is already a "membre associé". Cyprus also has four exclaves on its territory, British military bases that are British Overseas Territories (Irish people can probably relate to that).

Better not mention Commonwealth member countries like Uganda, Kenya, Bangladesh, Nigeria or Papua New Guinea, who rank rather low on the Corruption Perception Index (along with French speaking countries, to be fair).

by Bernard on Fri Apr 26th, 2019 at 12:29:35 PM EST

Others have rated this comment as follows:


Occasional Series