Welcome to European Tribune. It's gone a bit quiet around here these days, but it's still going.
Never mind New-Zealand, Australia, Taiwan or South Korea: they are island states (yes, SK is an "island" from the human travel POV). But the four Atlantic provinces in Canada (New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland and Labrador) have also managed to keep the virus down to almost non-existent. The cost was extremely strict border controls with the other Canadian provinces and stringent quarantine requirements for arriving visitors, plus a lot of criticism from the rest of the country. Not an island (well, not all of them), not an authoritarian country, but it worked.

Of course, the open border between Northern Ireland and the Republic means that the whole island is depending of the sectarian politics of the North...

by Bernard on Tue Nov 17th, 2020 at 09:20:51 PM EST
[ Parent ]

Others have rated this comment as follows:


Occasional Series